School Days

Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

When I think back to my school days, I recall with great clarity how raw everything was.

My primary school days were mixed – making friends, losing friends and coming to terms with school life as the only single parent child and the only ‘only child’ in my ‘year’ or ‘grade’. At times it was fun, other times were heartbreaking. I was a sensitive child and my naïveté, trust and forwardness were quickly repressed.

In junior school, it took me a while but I found my voice again, enjoying the majority of my time there. I learnt how to stand up for myself and how to be myself.

Secondary school was the place where I learnt how to be by myself and the great power that this would give me. During this time, I had friends, I had boyfriends and I had ‘epic’ life moments both good and bad that I’ll never forget. I finished my time there in a much better place than where I had started and moved onto college and university with a lighter heart, a lighter mind and for the first team the ability to be independent both in thought and in relationships.

I wouldn’t go back. I hated the food, getting wet at break time, doing PE, the school bus and all of my Science teachers.

I don’t miss anything.

But I wouldn’t change my experience of school as it has made me who I am today.

Leave a Reply

