Irritants and Oddities – Pt 2

Instead of the usual reflective post that often comes with the New Year, I’ve decided to jump straight back into the swing of things and post Irritants and Oddities – Pt 2.

Irritants

The ‘back to school’ feeling you get after a vacation; two weeks of ‘holiday’ and now back to ‘school’ – or rather work. That frustrating need to draw out each moment of your last holiday weekend for as long as possible and the realisation that you really better sort out your washing and work handbag so you don’t take twice as long to get ready on Monday morning…

It’s like the end of an era.

Ok, that might be a tad dramatic. But, as Friends has taught me, an era is a significant period of time. And I guess two weeks out of fifty two to have a holiday at the same time as the rest of the world, eat alot, sleep alot, catch up on good TV, have fun without worrying what e-mails are stacking up in your absence… well, I think that’s a pretty damn significant period of time with quite a lot of damn signifance.

So yeah, ok – it really is like the end of an era. And I’m sticking with it.

Oddities

My body clock. During the festive holiday, I have paid no regard to what time I go to bed or get up in the morning – a luxury given my normal working pattern during the rest of the year. Now, as my return to work draws ever nearer, my body clock has decided to wake me earlier and earlier as though to remind me that I will soon be seeing the darkness of early morning time once more. Up until now, and for one final hurrah tomorrow, I have been able to stick up two fingers to my body clock and roll over. And on Monday, my body clock will no longer be an oddity but rather a blessing that I never sleep through my alarm.

 

Leave a comment